Event Report – Munro, December 2023

RAIN, RAIN, RAIN!! …but most of our regulars turned up. It was too wet on Friday and Saturday morning to do much.


We decided to try for a few Quicky Rounds on Saturday morning. A good entry of 10. Some good racing, as always, over six rounds in this class, with a dead heat for 3rd place with Andrew Davies and David Chippendall. The performance of these out-of-the-box, off-the-shelf 7.5cc engines is amazing. I would say they eclipse the VRP’s and OPS’s of my early days in F3D. John Schmidli ended up taking it out from Gary Davidson.


Eight entries managing five rounds. Andrew Davies taking it out. There were a few engine problems, DNFs, and cuts. I see some nice new models in this class and very fine flying. Special mention goes to Tony Eichstadt and Anthony Thurgood – two very enthusiastic newcomers. Very rare for some time now.


Nothing much to report here. We could only manage four rounds. Times were less than average, with only four entries. Anthony Thurgood is certainly on his way in this class with a second place. Nothing new to report, but until we have F3D numbers fully attended again, we won’t see the world-class times we have seen in the past.

We did see some world-class control line combat demos from Murray Wilson and Greg Nelson. It is very special to see this very skilful form of Aeromodelling. We must thank Murray and Greg for putting on this display.

See you at Munro Field again on February 10th / 11th, 2024



Image 5 of 5


Class – FA1

1st Glenn Matthews
2nd Anthony Thurgood
3rd Brian Steele

Fastest Time (Red Box): 66.63 Glenn Matthews.
No. of competitors: 4

Class – F3T

1st Andrew Davies
2nd John Schmidli
3rd Jim Orenshaw

Fastest Time (Red Box): 69.93 Andrew Davies.
No. of competitors: 8

Class – Q500

1st John Schmidli
2nd Gary Davidson
3rd Andrew Davies

Fastest Time (Red Box): 96.73 John Schmidli
No. of competitors: 10

Season Championship

The 2022 – 2023 championship year has drawn to a close. The season spanned about 16 months as we will go by the calendar year for future seasons. It consisted of 12 races and taking part in the season; competitor numbers were 13 for FA1, 18 for F3T and 22 for Q500.

So congratulations go to the winners: Brian Steele taking out both FA1 & F3T and John Schmidli taking out Q500.


With the last race included, the Championship winner Brian Steele remained at the top, with Glenn Matthews jumping from 6th position into 2nd, bumping Rick Townsend down to 3rd place.

1st – Brian Steele
2nd – Glenn Matthews
3rd – Rick Townsend


This race didn’t change the top 3 places.

1st – Brian Steele
2nd – Jim Orenshaw
3rd – Andrew Davies


Again, there were no changes in the top 3 places for this class.

1st – John Schmidli
2nd – Jim Orenshaw
3rd – Anthony Thurgood

Next Class Race – Warrnambool.

We’ll be back at Munro on Feb 10-11.

Also, check the calendar regularly, as new dates for 2024 are being added regularly.


Report  – Barry Murphy & John Schmidli
Photos – John Schmidli.

Please note: We are looking for someone to write event reports regularly. Also, it would be wonderful to have someone photograph these events. This site has a vast readership and is important and valuable to pylon racing in Victoria, Australia and Worldwide.

The written content in this post is accurate to the best of my/our knowledge at the time of publishing. It is written from my/our perspective and reflects how I/we have experienced this event. Photos published as feature images are selected purely for their quality, general interest or topicality. When time permits, they are chosen from a pool of photos taken by myself and others. If a perspective is not being represented, I am more than happy to publish any written content or photos supplied to me, provided it is fair and reasonable.

Quick Reference