Munro March 2014 – Event Report

Once again a great week end was had down at Barry Murphy’s superb pylon racing field at Munro in Gippsland. The weather forecast was for fairly good conditions. There was a really good turnout with 12 compeditors in FA1, 11 flying F400 and 9 flying Q500. It was great seeing interstate competitors there also in Ranjit Phelan and Tony Howse.

It was a very impressive collection of caravans, trailers and gazebos with the addition of Andrew and Daniel Arapakis’s Basecamp van complete with Dannmann18 livery.

We flew 9 rounds of each class with 4 rounds each for F400 & Q500 and 5 rounds of FA1 on Saturday and the balance made up on the Sunday. This was officially the “John Hughan Trophy” event and trophies were given out at the end of racing on the Sunday. John Hughan was a very big influence on pylon racing in Victoria, Australia and internationally. Most of us flew with John in the past and it is fitting that we remember him with this event.

On Saturday Q500 models were randomly scrutinized checking props, muffler baffles, intake venturis and weight. It was great to see this happen. Also there where cut judges on 2 & 3 all weekend which also kept us honest and the racing very competitive. Thanks to all who volunteered to judged on all the pylons. It’s important for the health of pylon racing to run our races this way.

Check out the event photo gallery>>>



The Minute Master crew - 1st, 2nd & 3rd

1st Beau Murphy
2nd Barry Murphy
3rd Daniel Arapakis

Fastest Time: 59.78 – Beau Murphy
No. of competitors: 12
Course – 10.5 Lap

No change in places from Camperdown with The “Minute Master” Crew coming 1,2 and 3 again. Daniel was only 0.1 of a sec behind Barry after 9 rounds.


1st Ranjit Phelan
2nd Andrew Davies
3rd Glenn Matthews

Fastest Time: 66.04 – Gary Davidson
No. of competitors: 11
Course – 10.5 Lap


1st John Schmidli
2nd David Axon
3rd Jim Orenshaw

Fastest Time: 91.89 – Gary Davidson
No. of competitors: 9
Course – 10.5 Lap

Check out the full results>>>

2013-2014 Season Championship

Tony Howse and his beautifully presented F3D model

Now with only one event left for the 2013-2014 Season Championship, we are really down the business end. But also it’s time to consider starting a-fresh for your assault on the title for the 2014-2015 Championship.


No change at the top with Barry Murphy still in 1st and Brian Steele in 2nd, but Glenn Matthews has jumped up to 3rd place displacing Gary Davidson. It’s tight between these two.


A pair of Super Cats

Glenn Matthews and Andrew Davies are drawn on equal points. It’s a very tight battle at the top for these two. Gary Davidson remains in 3rd place.


Top position is now John Schmidli with Daniel Arapakis in 2nd having been equal after the Camperdown event. Jim Orenshaw remains in 3rd.

Full Championship Results>>>

Next Event

The next event is at Warrnambool on April 26-27, 2014. FA1, F400 and Q500 classes will be racing. See you there.

Report: John Schmidli
Photos: John Schmidli & Andrew Arapakis 

The written content in this post is accurate to the best of my knowledge at the time of publishing. It is written from my perspective and reflects how I have experienced this event.
Photos published as feature images are selected purely for their quality, general interest or topicality. They are chosen from a pool of photos taken by myself and others when time permits.
If a perspective is not being represented, I am more than happy to publish any written content or photos that are supplied to me provided it is fair and reasonable.

Quick Reference

Event Result
Photo Gallery
Season Championship
Event Calender